October Favourites ’16

If you have any Hallowe’en treats left over then go grab them, settle down on the couch, and read my favourites of the month.
Superdrug’s Naturally Radiant Renewing Night Cream:

I had never been able to find a good, affordable night cream until I discovered the Naturally Radiant range by Superdrug.

I’ve mentioned their hot cloth cleanser in a previous post, and how impressed I am with it – I picked up the cream along with the cleanser and have been using it most nights since.

It’s nice and thick, which I like in a night cream, and applies smoothly. In the morning you can definitely still feel it on your face, almost as if it hasn’t quite been absorbed into your skin, but it has, indeed, worked it’s magic.

My skin has not felt this soft and hydrated in a long time. The Naturally Radiant collection is fast becoming my go to for skincare products.

http://www.superdrug.com/Superdrug-Naturally-Radiant/Superdrug-Naturally-Radiant-Renewing-Night-Cream-75ml/p/516453

Bee Good Youth Enhancing Plump & Firm Moisturiser:

I always use Nivea Soft as my day-time moisturiser. For results and price I don’t think you can beat it. However, lately I have discovered the Bee Good range and love their Plump & Firm Moisturiser.
This handy 15ml tube is great to carry about in my handbag and I can just apply it whenever my skin is feeling tight or I have dry spots from being out in the cold weather.

Ideal to have for this time of year.

https://beegood.co.uk/products/youth-enhancing-plump-firm-moisturiser

Burt’s Bees Lip Shimmer, Tinted Lip Balm, and Carmex Lip Balm:

I have a friend who is obsessed with Burt’s Bees lip balms. She forwarded me a website called Latest In Beauty that offered them at 20% off – full sized. I hadn’t tried them before, and as I was saving money, I bought two.

I got the Lip Shimmer in Rhubarb. This is a very pigmented red shade with speckles of glitter throughout. The other one is the Tinted Lip Balm in Hibiscus, which is a pale orange-pink colour. Both apply nicely and are wonderfully moisturising. These are ideal to wear if you want to ensure your lips don’t dry out, but still want the look of wearing lipstick.

If tinted lip balms aren’t for you then you can’t go wrong with Classic Carmex. I prefer the tube to the tub as it just slides along your lips with no mess and fits nicely in your pocket. This no-nonsense lip balm sooths and moisturises chapped lips – just like it claims on the packaging.

You really can’t go wrong.

www.latestinbeauty.com

http://m.boots.com/h5/cat_hub?unCountry=uk&path=%2Fen%2FCarmex-Lip-Balm-Tube-10g_857698%2F

L’Occitane Hand Cream:

You shouldn’t neglect your hands during the cold months, it can be easy to do, though.  If, like me, you spend a good part of your day pushing a pram, and if, like me, you always forget your gloves then hand moisturiser is your best friend.

I was given the 3oml tube as a gift and it is the best hand cream I have ever used. It contains 20% shea butter which leaves my hands so soft and smooth. The 10ml tube I received in a Glossy Box. It has almond milk and is tiny enough to carry in my jacket pocket. This comes everywhere with me and saves my hands from painful cracks and dry skin.

http://uk.loccitane.com/shea-butter-hand-cream,83,1,29776,271739.htm

T.V.

Ash Vs Evil Dead:

Last Hallowe’en Ash Williams returned to slay the deadites with his chainsaw hand in the TV series based on The Evil Dead movie.

Older, immature, unfit, and seriously lacking in responsibility, Ash is living in a trailer trying to escape his past. But one drunken night, whilst trying to impress a lady, Ash reads from the Necronomicon Ex Mortis and awakens the evil dead . . . again.

Cue hilarious antics with his sidekicks Kelly and Pablo, as the three try to rid the world of evil.

Bruce Campbell reprises the role that sealed his reputation as the B Movie master. Sam Raimi acts as an executive producer and none of his charm is lost in the series. It retains all the gore, comical yet creepy puppetry, and witty oneliners that make the movies so memorable.

Lucy Lawless also stars and capitalises on her bad ass Xena Warrior Princess fighting moves to battle the evil forces. I still don’t know if she’s friend or foe, though.

This is one of my favourite shows at the moment – horror, humour, gore, and a man with a “chin that could kill” – get it watched!

*fun fact: Stephen King endorsed The Evil Dead. 

Groovy, baby .

Scream:

In 1996 a slasher film was released that changed the history of slasher films. It was inventive, current, and starred a female lead who was both smart and brave.

I was 11 years old and super excited every time I seen a trailer for Scream. Of course, being too young there was no way in hell that I was going to get to see that film before it came out on video. My big sister went to see it, though, and I demanded that she tell me everything about it. Every. Scene.

It remains a firm favourite, so when I heard that there was going to be a t.v. series I just had to check it out. Part of me certain that it would be awful and unworthy of the movie, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s hardly thought provoking television, but it’s fun and entertaining.

The teenage characters are comparable to the teens of the movie, and horror movie knowledge plays a salient role throughout. But most importantly, the killer terrorises his victims with phone calls (And texts. Cos, you know, 2016) and wears the trademark black cloak and scary ghoul mask, albiet slightly different.

At times it is very cliché and predictable, but it can also be gory, and season one has an unexpected twist that is satisfying and sets up season two just nicely.

If you’re also a fan of the movie then give the series a look.

The Walking Dead:

Eight months we’ve all been waiting to find out who would meet their end at the hands of Negan and his nightmarish bat Lucille.

Many rumours circulated and I made my own guesses. In the end, I guessed correctly.

As the series airs a day earlier in the States it can be tough work trying to avoid spoilers. All social media platforms are buzzing with breakdowns of the episode, and many fans discussing the repercussions of the characters’ actions – it took all my strength not to read anything, as I am a nosy sod by nature.

In the end it was my mum who spilled the beans;

” It’s who you thought.” she told me, once she walked through my front door.

I wasn’t fussed and it certainly didn’t stop me from enjoying the episode. It was brutal, emotional, and impeccably acted. Rick was emotionally stripped raw before his post-apocalyptic family, and i’m unsure as to whether or not he can recover from that. Negan is the new main man and our heroes have a long hard road ahead of them.

I was satisfied with the first episode. In my opinion it was about time one of the originals perished – too many times had a new character, with the potential to be great, died too soon. And now they’ve met Negan who doesn’t care who’s an original and who’s not, he’s cracking skulls.

This first episode has set up this season to be the best yet.

Keep smiling x

Leave a Reply

