September Favourites ’16

It’s that time of month again!

Kylie Matte Liquid lipstick kit – KokoK:

I have had my eye on Kylie Jenner’s lipsticks for months now. I’ve read many reviews about how the formula and shades have changed, and how the latest batches aren’t as good as the first, but I was still intrigued. I love matte lipsticks, particularly liquid ones, and I’ve always been pretty useless with matching liners to lipsticks, so the fact that you get one with your lipstick is ideal for me!

I pretty much love all of her shades – especially the grungy 90s ones – but KokoK really stood out to me. It’s a gorgeous pinky nude and completely compliments my skin tone – I’m fairly pale.

The liner is super creamy and simply glides on your lips. As it is so soft it is very easy to apply, even for unsteady hands like mine. As you might be able to see from the above picture, I have used mine an awful lot and the nib has nearly worn down. However, you can sharpen the liner. I may be quite thick as I didn’t think you could. You see, the casing is quite plastic-ky and, I thought, sharpen proof, but I did my research and discovered that it isn’t  sharpen proof. Whoop! Now you don’t have to worry about wasting that wonderful product and your money.

The lipstick applies like a lip balm and mattifies in a matter of seconds. It may just be my imagination, but I feel it mattifying. It’s just a gentle drying sensations on the lips and isn’t unpleasant, and then you simply forget that your wearing it. It is so lightweight, doesn’t transfer,  and literally lasts all day. Two weeks ago I wore it for the full day, reapplied, then wore it the full night, and I only reapplied because I was going out, not because I felt I had to.

This product truely lives up to the hype. It may be a bit pricey – especially having to order it from the states, but I think it’s worth it. This was a birthday present to myself and I’ve already told my sister that I fancy Candy K for Christmas.

I will have them all!

L’Oréal Infallible Fixing Mist:

In Boots one day the girl working the L’Oréal counter grabbed me and did my makeup. She matched a foundation for me, applied blusher and mascara and informed me that it was 3 for 2. I had entered the shop to buy a new foundation, so that was helpful, I liked the mascara, so got that, but I have more blushers than I need, so opted for the L’Oréal Infallible Fixing Mist as my third item.

I always use primer under my foundation, but I like to try new things. People say great things about the Mac Fix +, but I just wasn’t prepared to spend that much money just to try it. I figured the Fixing Mist basically does the same thing and it’s a fraction of the price.

Actually, I wasn’t expecting it to be as good as it is. I could never really get my head around spraying a liquid onto my just made-up face, but it dries rather quickly and leaves your face completely mattified and smudge free. My makeup doesn’t budge and my face is devoid of all shine. I love this spray and don’t know how I managed without it.

Mulberry Small Blossom Pouch:

It was my birthday in September and my big sister brought me this beautiful Mulberry pouch. It is a reddish brown colour, official name Oxblood, and is real leather. It smells amazing – that deep strong, almost earthy, smell that leaves you satisfied that you have a good quality product.

I am unsure what to use it for – it’s too nice to use at all, actually. My sis suggested using it as a clutch, but I thought maybe a makeup bag? But then it would get all dirty and I don’t want that.  If you haven’t even any suggestions then please leave them in the comments section below.

T.V.

Fargo:

Paul and I actually watched this Netflix original show during the Summer holidays, but I forgot to mention it in last months Favourites.

This is by far the second best series i have watched this year (the first being Stranger Things). It is a black comedy and inspired by the Coen Brothers movie of the same name. All elements of the series, from the direction to the storytelling, mirror the original film.

The first season is set in Bemidji, Minnesota and involves the arrival of hit man Lorne, played by Billy Bob Thornton, impacting the lives of many of the residents. He has a chance encounter with Martin Freeman’s character, Lester, in a hospital one night, and after an unfortunate misunderstanding, Lester finds himself embroiled in murder and lies at the hand of Lorne.

The less that professional local police force overlook the timid Lester in all of their enquiries, except for Molly, the tenacious daughter of a one-time state trooper, who becomes increasingly wary of the little man.

Season two is set years before the first, with Molly only a little girl and her father investigating the shooting in a waffle house. Strange circumstances surround the events after the shooting, which involve small town hairdresser, Peggy, played by Kirsten Dunst. She and her husband are then unfortunate enough to become involved in gunfight and deceit with the local mobster family.

Both series are very clever and very funny. It’s casting is spot on with Martin Freeman giving an outstanding performance as the bumbling pushover Lester. Season one is my favourite – the storyline is so simple, but just wonderfully executed and superbly acted. There is apparently going to be a season three with Ewan McGregor, but I’m unsure as to when it’ll air.

If you are able to watch this show then do it. You won’t be disappointed.

Keep smiling x

2 thoughts on “September Favourites ’16

Leave a Reply

