Soap and Glory The Ultimatte Collection

I have a lot of eyeshadows; singles and pallettes – more than I know what to do with. I try and make my way around them all, but it’s not easy. Not just because I have so many, but because the majority of them are shimmery.

I have hooded eyes and applying eyeshadow can be frustrating. I can choose a beautiful shade to sweep across my lid, but when my eyes are open the “hood” hides all my work – leaving me wondering why I even bother with eyeshadow at all. 

However, thanks to the magic of the internet, I’ve been able to access useful videos detailing the best way to apply eyeshadow to hooded eyes. All of them suggest applying eyeshadow above your natural crease, but almost all of them suggest not using shimmer for this technique as it reflects light, emphasising the “hood”.

This isn’t suggesting that I can’t continue to wear shimmer or glitter on my mobile lid, just apply matte above the crease to create shadow, so I decided to give it a try. Problem was, I didn’t have any shades of matte that I felt were right for the job.

I searched on the Boots website and landed on Soap and Glory’s The Ultimatte Collection – a full pallette of just matte eyeshadows. Result! Plus, I hadn’t tried makeup from this range – just body products, so I was kinda killing two birds with one stone.

The shades are beautiful and very mild – they are more like day-time shades than night-time shades, but that is what I was looking for. 

When you dust your brush along each colour – even lightly – a cloud of product puffs up, initially making me worry that I would end up with fallout all over my cheeks. However, this wasn’t an issue. The eyeshadow applies smoothly and is very blendable. 

I have used this pallette practically every day for the past two weeks and just can’t get enough of it. The “above crease technique” really works for me, and these shades are perfect for it.

I still love my shimmers, though.

Shades from left to right:

  1. Cat Got The . . .
  2. Take A Sand
  3. Pink-tuitive
  4. Rudy Judy
  5. Okey Cocoa
  6. Conker All
  7. Pebble Power
  8. Stone Age
  9. Mauve Over
  10. Liquorice 

      http://m.boots.com/h5/cat_hub?unCountry=uk&path=%2Fen%2FSoap-Glory%25C2%2599-The-ultimatte%25C2%2599-Eyeshadow-Palette_1857097%2F

      Keep smiling x 

      Leave a Reply

      