The Son by Joe Nesbo

image

I am well aware that my last book review was on a Joe Nesbo novel, but he’s just such a fantastic author that I cannot stop reading his work. The Son, however, is the first of his novels I have read that doesn’t revolve around Harry Hole.

This tome is about Sonny Lofthus who, at the beginning of the book, is doing time for a crime he didn’t commit.  He is a drug addict, solemn, and something of a Christ figure to other inmates. Not that they believe him to be the second coming just that they find peace in his presence and he absolves them of all their sins.

Sonny idolised his father who was a police officer. But when he killed himself after being discovered as corrupt, Sonny’s world came crashing down.

However, whilst in prison, Sonny discovers something about his dad and decides he must break out and seek revenge on his father’s behalf.

Meanwhile, on the outside, Simon Kefas, an old copper with a rather disgraceful past that he would rather forget, is working on a murder that is connected to Sonny.

Simon also worked with Sonny’s father and may know him better than Sonny ever did. Does this mean that Simon and Sonny will join forces to clear his father’s name?

I’m not going to tell you.

This is a good old fashioned revenge story.  As usual, it is impeccably written and I grew very attached to the characters Sonny and Simon, as well as a few others.

As you read this story, you realise that it can only end one way. The finale is heartbreaking yet appropriate.

I know my book reviews can be quiet vague, but I really don’t want to give anything away! If I were to tell you everything that happens in each novel, what would be the point in you reading it?  I want to tell you just enough to make you want to by the book and read it – that is one of my goals in life; to spread the joy of reading good books and make readers out of everyone.

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

