April Favourites ’16

image

It’s time for my April Favourites.  Get comfy and have a read.

Products:

Dolly’s Mixtures shower gel:

image

I picked these adorable shower gels up from Asda a few weeks ago. They were only £1 and when I smelled them I just had to have them.
  The flavours I bought are Candy Floss, Peach Melba, and Bubblegum and they smell exactly as described.
They boys love them which makes bath time so much easier.

I ❤ Makeup Summer of Love:

image

I am in love with this shimmery bronzer. It is from Makeup Revolution (can you tell that’s my favourite makeup brand?) and is the shade Love Hot Summer.
  I had never known what to do with a bronzer in the past, and only applied it when I was wearing fake tan. But after scouring YouTube for ideas I discovered that you can just lightly brush it over your cheeks to give your face some warmth.
  So that is what I have been doing for the past couple of weeks and don’t want to go back to blusher any time soon.
  The shade is a beautiful golden brown with just a slight orange undertone, but if you apply it with a light hand you can avoid looking like an Oompa Loompa.
  If you like bronzer then you should definitely give this a try.

http://www.makeuprevolutionstore.com

Benefit Licence to Blot:

image

This little thing here is an absolute gem of a product. It is an instant oil blotting stick that you simply glide over the oil-prone parts of your face for instant mattifed skin.
The idea is to carry it around with you and apply it whenever you’re feeling particularly oily. However, I have found that doing this can make your powder and foundation slide on your skin, so I simply apply whatever primer I’m using and then run the blotting stick over my t zone. This helps my makeup to stay in place and eliminates shine.
  A great wee stick.

http://www.boots.com

Collection Lasting Colour lipstick:

image

I have been looking for ages for a nude lipstick that doesn’t make me look as if I have no lips. I can’t be the only person who has this trouble?
  After searching high and low online and in the shops I finally found the perfect shade in Boots. It is Rose Wood by Collection and it is the most perfect browny, pinky nude that is demure enough for day wear, but classy enough for night time.
  Now that I have found this I am terrified that it will be discontinued so I think I’ll just need to stock up.
  If you’re looking for a gorgeous nude then definitely try this one.

http://www.boots.com

Maybelline The Eraser Eye:

image

I have been using this under eye concealer for months now and it is just perfect. It gives the right enough coverage without caking or any tackiness.
  The packaging is sleek and handy, you just twist the neck and the liquid builds up on the wee spongy applicator that is soft enough for you to just glide along your under eye. Then you blend with a damp beauty blender – easy as that.

http://www.boots.com

Fortune Favours the Brave:

image

This is the latest eyeshadow pallette from Makeup Revolution. It is called Fortune Favours the Brave and was created by BritishBeautyBlogger.
  The shades are just divine. The golds and pinks are just fabulous for this time of year, and the dark purples and blues are brilliant for a sultry night on the town.
  There are a mix of matte and shimmers and some colours are baked. One of my favourite beauty YouTuber has done a tutorial using this beautiful pallette and there are many great looks you can get from it.
  A definite must for any makeup lover.

http://www.makeuprevolutionstore.com

Television:

Scott and Bailey:
This was the 5th series of this wonderful programme about two female detectives and, sadly, the last.
  I have followed this show since it started in 2011 and admire the great writing and wonderful acting from Suranne Jones, Lesley Sharp, and Amelia Bullmore. The three women play Detective Constable Rachel Bailey, Detective Constable Janet Scott, and Detective Chief Inspector Gill Murray respectively and the chemistry between them is electrifying. They bounce off each other like life long friends and their characters look after each other in a male dominated workplace.
  Each series focuses on some kind of high profile crime as well as the lead characters personal life. Janet is a single mother of two teenage girls, and Rachel is an immature and emotionally detached workaholic. The two are the best of friends.
  When series 5 started I was so excited, but when I realised it was the last series ever and only 3 episodes long, I was absolutely gutted. This show and it’s fabulous writers and talented actors have so much to give and I think it had many more years left in it.
  This series was enjoyable and gripping, but I feel it was rushed. With a serial killer on the loose and Janet’s daughter arrested for possession of indecent images of a minor, there was a lot of stuff to try and cram into just 3 episodes and have it all round up nicely for a satisfying finale.
  Amelia Bullmore wasn’t in this series (which we knew from last series) and I think her presence was definitely missed. Suranne Jones and Lesley Sharp held the fort and put on blinding performances, but I missed the dynamic of all three tough women together.
  All in all the series was fantastic, but I’m bitterly disappointed that it’s the end of a wonderful show.

11.22.63:
Stephen King is my all time favourite author and his novel 11.22.63, which sees a man go back in time to stop the assassination of JFK, is one of my favourites.  It’s an ambitious premise which Mr King pulls off flawlessly (but of course, I’m biased) and in true Stephen King style, it crosses over with some of his previous work.
  My favourite this month isn’t the book, though, it’s the TV series based on the book. It stars James Franco as the main protagonist Jake Epping. Jake is a teacher who frequents a diner so often that the owner feels able to confide in him that there is a “rabbit hole” at the back of a stock cupboard that propels you back to 1960. The owner, Al, explains that no matter how long you spend in the past only two minutes pass in the present. Of course Jake is sceptical, until he travels back to 1960 and experiences it for himself.
  Al goes on to tell Jake that he is dying due to time travelling and wants Jake to take his place in preventing the assassination of John F Kennedy, which Al attributes to all of the bad things that have happened since.  He feels that JFK could have prevented such things from happening.
  Jake accepts the responsibility and his journey begins.
  Of course, there have been changes made for the TV show, but that’s only to be expected. I’m enjoying it so far, it makes for great Sunday night viewing, and I’m excited to see how it will end.

Game of Thrones:
You would have to have been living under a rock for the past four weeks not to know that the latest series of Game of Thrones started last month.
  Now, I’m not going to talk much about this, as we are still catching up on the 5th series, but thanks to social media and my natural curiosity i know what’s been happening is series 6 thus far.
  I’m forbidden from saying anything to Paul, though, so we will just continue to enjoy series 5 and catch up as soon as we can.

Keep smiling x

Leave a Reply

